Oct 05

Anderson, Fields, Jamison and Partin Pick Up Wins in Final Race of 2014!

(Peebles, OH) For the final time in the 2014 season the Brushcreek Motorsports Complex opened its gates for racing action. Its was an unusually cold night as temperatures at race time were in the upper 40′s which only means fast cars and great racing. All drivers were trying to seal up a win before the season rounded out and things were sure taking surprising turns throughout the night.

The First cars to hit the track were the Crazy Compacts. Keith Anderson looked to continue his recent dominance but Kevin Howell wanted to shake things up! Kevin had already locked up the 2014 Crazy Compact championship but wanted a bit more. Keith Anderson took the early lead with Howell hot on his tail. Kevin Howell worked his purple number four car but couldn’t get by Anderson. Keith Anderson picked up another win to round out the season with Kevin Howell, Matt Large, Holly Young and Ray Fisher rounded out the top 5. Champion Kevin Howell thanked everyone for all their support and said “I have really enjoyed racing this year and I have met some great people” in a Facebook post.

The Hidden Gem Web Designs Sport Mods rolled out next for their feature. Tyler Smith of Portsmouth, OH took early command of the race. He lead to lap 5 when his engine gave up the ghost. Emily Jordan then took control and continued to lead until she was involved in an incident with a lap car. This gave Mitchell Fields the lead. Fields never looked back and picked up the feature win! Davey Dunn, Christopher Spencer, Emily Jordan and Billy Lanthorn rounded out the top 5. 10 Year old Harrison Hall sealed up the 2014 Hidden Gem Web Designs Sport Mods Championship

The Modifieds readied for their final race of 2014. Dave Jamison has dominated the season but this event showed he had some very good competition to overcome. Jamison took over the early lead with Adam Colley following closely. Through the slew of cautions Colley stayed all over Jamison but couldn’t get it done. After having troubles in his heat and causing him to start deep in the field, Jeremy Rayburn was the biggest mover who came from 13th to finish 3rd. Dave Jamison showed everyone exactly what he was made of at Brushcreek. 4th place went to Adam Stricker and Brian Whiteman finished 5th. Dave Jamison was also crowned 2014 Modified Champion.

The final race of the night was the Ohio Valley Roofers Legend Car finale. Josh Francis had to complete a lap to seal up his first Legend Car championship but on the opening lap of the 20 Lap feature Tommy Stout Sr and Josh Francis got together. Francis rolled his car over the backstretch banking. He was physically okay but needed a miracle to still win the championship. Francis’ miracle came in the form of brotherly-like sportsmanship from two drivers. Immediately once learning about Francis’ championship woes, Cole DeMint pulled up and offered to give up his ride. Josh wouldn’t take Cole’s offer because he felt Cole was sitting in a spot to run a career highlight race. Next John Gutman jumped out and after some negotiation Francis climbed in. Steven Partin came from the tail to win the event and Josh Francis made his laps and won the championship. Cole DeMint wound up with a career best finishing position of second. Tommy Stout Sr, Josh Francis and Tommy Stout Jr rounded out the top 5.

From Promoter Steven Partin:

I would personally like to thank all of our fans, drivers and employees for all of their support this season. We had another awesome year of racing and we are ready for 2015. We are also excited for the addition of the Southern Ohio Lightning Mini-Sprints as a weekly class next year. Thank you again for all of your support and we will see you in May to kick off another season!

Keep updated all winter at www.brushcreekmotorsports.com with news and schedule announcements in the spring!